Type your text, and hit enter to search:


Banner Image:   Content page Banner


Children at Little Fishes learn through play, to become independent, make choices and decisions whilst socialising and forming relationships with other children. The children will explore and act out roles, consolidate their learning and make sense of the world around them in an environment of love and care. 

We follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum.
There are four key themes to the EYFS:

1. Unique Child

This is underpinned by the principle that every child is a competent learner from birth and is about how the children develop.  All are different, but should be treated equally.  Positive relationships and good communication are vital.  The children need to learn about risks and safety, how to make good choices, and how to stick to boundaries.  They do best when all their physical and emotional needs are met.


2. Positive Relationships

Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents/carers and/or a Key Person.  This theme is about the children learning to manage their feelings and build friendships. We will respect all kinds of families and aim to develop a positive two-way relationship with parents.  We will support, listen to and work with the children to help them learn.  A Key Person looks after each child.


3. Enabling Environments

The principle underpinning enabling environments is that the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.  The theme is about practitioners planning for and checking on each child’s progress.  We will involve parents/carers and the local community.  We will ensure that inside spaces at the setting are safe, interesting and engaging.  We will support children when they move on, working as a team to help your child succeed.


4. Learning & Development

Children learn and develop in different ways and at different rates.  They will all, however, be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning.  Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first which are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Communication and Language

  • Physical Development

These prime areas will then help children to develop skills in 4 specific areas:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design

These areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities tailored to their individual needs and taking into account their interests.  Children at this age learn best through playing and exploring, active learning and creating and thinking critically.



As well as helping the children to learn, practitioners are also responsible for the children’s welfare.  We will look after your children properly and help them to stay healthy.  We will make sure that the setting is a safe and positive place for the children.


Supporting Your Child at Home

  • Spend plenty of time talking with your child.

  • Read lots of books together.

  • Encourage your child to take part in activities, such as digging in the garden, visiting interesting places and taking part in sports.

  • Play a variety of games together – spending quality time with your child is the very best way to help them learn and develop.

  • Tell us if your child does something new or interesting.

  • Let us know if you have any problems or worries about your child, or if you need our help.


Keeping records

Whilst your child is at Little Fishes we will record the things that they do and the experiences they have.  We take photographs and make notes to show how your child is developing which are stored in an online Learning Journey called Tapestry.  You have access to this and are able to add your own contributions of things your child has learnt at home or things they have done.